10 Unforgettable Quotes: A Top Ten List

Happy Tuesday! It’s spring, but I could use some uplifting quotes since it’s been SO. RAINY. lately. Give me heat or give me death. Not really. But I’ll take 100 degrees over cold and rain every time. This week at The Broke and the Bookish, we’re talking about our favorite, most inspiring quotes. I mostly want to hand you a giant stack of books and assure you you’ll find them, but instead, I picked one (just one!) from each of these 10:

“That’s the secret. If you always make sure you’re exactly the person you hoped to be, if you always make sure you know only the very best people, then you won’t care if you die tomorrow.” Tell the Wolves I’m Home, by Carol Rifka Brunt

“I had the epiphany that laughter was light, and light was laughter, and that this was the secret of the universe.” The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt finch

“It is easy to see things in retrospect. But I was ignorant then of everything but my own happiness, and I don’t know what else to say except that life itself seemed very magical in those days: a web of symbol, coincidence, premonition, omen. Everything, somehow, fit together; some sly and benevolent Providence was revealing itself by degrees and I felt myself trembling on the brink of a fabulous discovery, as though any morning it was all going to come together–my future, my past, the whole of my life–and I was going to sit up in bed like a thunderbolt and say oh! oh! oh!” The Secret History, by Donna Tartt

“I think we are well advised to keep on nodding terms with the people we used to be, whether we find them attractive company or not. Otherwise they turn up unannounced and surprise us, come hammering on the mind’s door at 4 a.m. of a bad night and demand to know who deserted them, who betrayed them, who is going to make amends.” Slouching Towards Bethlehem, by Joan Didion

tale“Both life and death manifest in every moment of existence. Our human body appears and disappears moment by moment, without cease, and this ceaseless arising and passing away is what we experience as time and being. They are not separate. They are one thing, and in even a fraction of a second, we have the opportunity to choose, and to turn the course of our action either toward the attainment of truth or away from it. Each instant is utterly critical to the whole world.” A Tale For the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki

I realized that even if no one ever found me, and even if I lived out the rest of my life here, always missing, forever a missing person to other people, I could never be missing to myself, I could never delete my own history, and I would always know exactly where I was and where I had been and I would never wake up not being whom I was and it didn’t matter how much or how little I thought I understood the mess of myself, because I would never, no matter what I did, be missing to myself and that was what I had wanted all this time, to go fully missing, but I would never be able to go fully missing — nobody is missing like that, no one has ever had that luxury and no one ever will.” Nobody Is Ever Missing, by Catherine Lacey

“Memories are microscopic. Tiny particles that swarm together and apart. Little people, Edison called them. Entities.” Dept. of Speculation, by Jenny Offilldept

“It’s not always enough to be brave, I realized years later. You have to be brave and contribute something positive, too. Brave on its own is just a party trick.” One More Thing, by B.J. Novak

“…the secret of the Great Stories is that they have no secrets. The Great Stories are the ones you have heard and want to hear again. The ones you can enter anywhere and inhabit comfortably. They don’t deceive you with thrills and trick endings. They don’t surprise you with the unforeseen. They are as familiar as the house you live in. Or the smell of your lover’s skin. You know how they end, yet you listen as though you don’t. In the way that although you know that one day you will die, you live as though you won’t. In the Great Stories you know who lives, who dies, who finds love, who doesn’t. And yet you want to know again. That is their mystery and their magic.” The God of Small Things, by Arundhati Roy

color“As we go through life we gradually discover who we are, but the more we discover, the more we lose ourselves.” Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami

What are some of the best quotes you’ve ever read?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

