Six Degrees of Separation: Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Because I want to try something new, and I’ll never stop loving Wildand Katie said this is an Amy game, I decided to try out Six Degrees of Separation this week! The way it works is this: Start with one book, and link it to six other books in whatever way you can. So here we go:

wild

Wild is about leaving your life behind and so is: Nobody is Ever Missing by Catherine Lacey. Elyria is unhappy in her “real” life and jets off to New Zealand to the home of a writer she’s met once and no plan for the foreseeable future. Cheryl Strayed was going through some seriously heavy stuff and set off for the PCT…

…Which led to a lot of introspection and self realization just like: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz. Two teenage boys growing into their personalities, their desires, and obviously, finding some secrets of the universe along the way, which was…

Very philosophical just like…The History of Love by Nicole Krauss. This alternates between present day and somewhere around WWII, and is a heartwarming and heartbreaking look at love. It’s told in a way that is completely unlike anything else I’ve ever read except…

PicMonkey Collage

Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. Okay this is the only one I felt like is kind of cheating because I think he is married to Nicole Krauss but whatever there is a legitimate connection. The writing is extremely similar and they both deal with traumatizing aspects of history: in this case, 9/11, in The History of Love, WWII.

Speaking of WWII, one of my forever favorites takes place during that time: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Liesel and Rudy are the best of friends during an incredibly tumultuous time, proving that friends will be there for you no matter what.

Finally, nothing was more of a tumultuous, world ending book than Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. The world as we know it literally ends when the Georgia Flu wipes out 99% of the population, leaving the people who are left to stick together no matter what.

PicMonkey Collage2

And that’s it! My first six degrees of separation. Hopefully I did it right, but I enjoyed it either way! This is hosted by Annabel Smith and Emma Chapman, and here are the rules in case you want to try it out yourself sometime:

degree

One comment

  1. Wait, this looks like so much fun! I feel like whenever I’m reading I see a connection that’s SO UNBELIEVABLE between that and the last book I read. Like just the mention of a location in both will make me lose my shit. So this looks like my kind of game too haha. Never would have imagined Wild being linked to Station Eleven, but now it seems so obvious! haha

Leave a Reply

