It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

PicMonkey CollageHappy Monday! (Kind of an oxymoron, but whatever) I’ve never done one of these weekly posts before, but since I’ve hardly had any books to actually talk about lately, I figured now was the time to join in.

I somehow managed to escape high school and 99% of college without having read any Virginia Woolf. I’m pretty sure I even own A Room of One’s Own, and never picked it up. I have to say though, I can’t say I feel like I’ve been missing much.

Never before has a single day in someone’s life taken so long to read or felt quite this tedious. I feel like I can’t keep up with the narrative style and all the jumping around it does, so I’m hoping it’ll start to make more sense as I go.

I have so many books waiting for me to finish: An Untamed State, The Martian, and On Such a Full Sea, so those are my motivation to finish up my “required reading” for now!

What are you reading this week?

8 comments

  1. Some people seem to love her, and others not so much. It makes me nervous to give her a try, but also curious to know which camp I’ll be in. Good thing her books tend to be on the short side. 🙂

  2. Oh gosh, I was SO stoked to read To the Lighthouse in college. When I did, I felt like the biggest nerd failure. I found it super tedious and I kept falling asleep. Best of luck my little caffeine enthusiast, but if it doesn’t improve, at least you’re in good company :).

  3. I’ve never read any Virginia Woolf either… I should get on that!
    Right now I’m reading The Secret History by Donna Tartt, and I’m really enjoying it! It’s so enigmatic and her writing is just so beautiful. I also found out that the college it takes place at (Hampden College) is based off of Bennington College, where she went to school. Bennington is actually one of the colleges I applied to, so it’s really cool to see it reflected in her work!
    I hope you have a great week! 🙂

    1. The Secret History is SO. GOOD! I’m glad you’re loving it! That’s so cool you applied there – I don’t know if you listen to the Literary Disco Podcast, but Rider Strong and his two co-hosts all met at Bennington! Good luck!!

  4. I’m sorry Mrs. Dalloway isn’t working for you! I had to read To the Lighthouse in high school, and it made zero sense to me, but I loved Mrs. Dalloway when I read it last year. The writing is just so gorgeous! And I wouldn’t let Mrs. Dalloway turn you off from A Room of One’s Own, if you do have a copy; I believe it was written as a speech, so the form is much more traditional.

Leave a Reply

