14 Romances for Valentine’s Day (That Won’t Have You Rolling Your Eyes)

PicMonkey CollageI know Valentine’s Day isn’t everyone’s favorite holiday. “IT WAS CREATED BY HALLMARK FOR MONEY” they will shout. They might be right, but that’s never stopped me from loving it. Given my love for the holiday, and all things love, I don’t actually read a lot of romance novels. They’ve never been my cup of … coffee. But when I do, I always end up deeply invested in the story, and usually crying. (Why do so many love stories also have to be sad and/or tragic??) Anyway, I decided to put together a list of the best non-eye-roll-inducing romances to celebrate the ultimate ~*day of love*~ whether you believe in it or not. Ready, go!

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes (This is the only one I’ve read, but from what I’ve heard, anything by Jojo Moyes will do!)

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion (Follow it up with The Rosie Project. And when you do, tell me how it is, because I am so, so far behind).

Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed: Not a love story in the traditional sense but it is uplifting and inspiring in the way love itself is.

Landline by Rainbow Rowell (Like Jojo Moyes, ANYTHING by Rainbow Rowell is perfect!)

The Storied Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin. A love story that will warm even the coldest of souls, I promise you.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz. A great love story, a great life story.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Schaffer. See my reasoning on AJ Fikry.

Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple. A mother/daughter love story!

Single, Carefree, Mellow by Katherine Heiny. Read this one on Galentine’s day with your friends!

Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt. Family love. Sisterly love. All the love, all the sadness, the perfect book.

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami. This is one of those heartbreakers I mentioned up at the top, but it’s beautiful and I love it.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. No explanation required, because come on.

A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron. A dog’s love is the realest love there is, if we’re honest about it.

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith. The love of books is one we all know quite well, and Francie is our collective spirit animal.

What are your favorite love stories, romantic or otherwise?? Do you “believe” in Valentine’s Day?

9 comments

Leave a Reply

