January Wrap Up

I don’t usually do monthly wrap up posts, but I always love reading other people’s so I thought maybe I would try out my own! Plus, I’ve been so unmotivated to write reviews lately, I almost don’t recognize myself.

January was a great start to 2015: I managed to read 10 books somehow, despite starting school at the end of the month. That’s part of why things have quieted down this week, we read Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness, which I didn’t like in high school, and though I can appreciate it more now, still don’t particularly care for it. Next up: A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man.

Anyway, I also finished:

Saga Volumes 1-3
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
My Year of Meats by Ruth Ozeki
Binary Star by Sarah Gerard
Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas
The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
Fables by Bill Willingham

PicMonkey Collage

I think my favorite of the month was The Girl on the Traineven though Dangerous Girls kind of left me with my jaw hanging open.

I’ve also been contributing to Bustle more and more, and January was definitely the beginning of that. It was actually a pretty even split between book posts and lifestyle articles about Valentine’s Day. If you can never get enough book articles:

14 Books to Give as Gifts This Valentine’s Day

11 Books to Read on a Snow Day

12 Books to Read if You Loved ‘The Girl on the Train’ (That Aren’t ‘Gone Girl’)

How was your month? What are you looking forward to in February?

9 comments

  1. I always enjoy seeing monthly wrap-ups too. 😀

    The Girl on the Train was something, whew! I couldn’t put that one down once I started. The Good Girl is patiently waiting on my tbr pile. One of these days… (You know how that goes, sigh)

    Have a great February!

  2. I had the same experience with Heart of Darkness. Hated it in high school, gave it another shot this past year, still didn’t like it. I can appreciate it, yes, but it’s still not for me.

  3. January was a great month for reading! Kudos to you for reading Heart of Darkness TWICE. Can I take one of those times off your hands and pretend like I read it once?
    What did you think of The Good Girl?
    The Girl on the Train was so good. I want to go back and read it again for the first time!

Leave a Reply

