10 Books to Kick Off Your Mystery Themed Book Club

Happy Tuesday! Lately, all I want to read is a good mystery. A disappearance, a murder, BOTH? Sign me up. Maybe it’s the wintery darkness they all seem to have, maybe I’m still into this genre since finishing The Girl on the Train. But if it were up to me, and I had a book club, I would want it to be mystery themed. We could have Sherlock Holmes hats and pipes and pretend to be in London while we discussed the books. HOW FUN WOULD THAT BE THOUGH, REALLY? Okay. Anyway. These are the ten books I would suggest we read!

PicMonkey Collage3

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica: I’m in the middle of this audio book right now and not only does the story draw you right in, but the narration is done by four separate people and it’s really engaging. All of the characters and the turns in this one is sure to give you a lot to talk about!

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith: Is it even a book club without a little JK Rowling? No. Her mystery series starring Cormoran Strike is fantastic, and if you’re still hesitant to get into it because it’s not Harry Potter, I was too, but I promise, it’s worth it.

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas: I started and finished this one yesterday in a matter of hours. It’s a YA book about a group of friends that goes on a Spring Break vacation to Aruba that goes horribly wrong when one of the group is found dead in her room. From beginning to end, you won’t be able to put it down, I promise.

Before I Go To Sleep by S.J Watson: Why can’t Christine remember what happens to her from day to day? Why does she have a notebook that tells her not to trust Ben, her husband? Unraveling the mystery of Christine’s life with a book club would be much more fun with a group! This was actually the one book my book club finished while it was still a thing.

The Silent Wife by A.S.A Harrison: Jodi and Todd have been together forever…but they never officially tied the knot. They have settled into a routine, a pattern, which neither of them dares to break. At least not out loud. But when Jodi is pushed over the edge once and for all, it becomes a race to the finish to see who will come out on top…or alive.

Unbecoming by Rebecca Scherm: An art heist, a small town girl, Paris, what doesn’t add up to a great book that makes for a great book club read?

The Dinner by Herman Koch: Two families meet to discuss the matter of their sons, and the very serious act they’ve committed together. No one knows the full truth, and as the courses come and go, tensions rise ever higher. The perfect quick, fast paced read to get a book club discussion going.

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson: The Millennium Trilogy is one of the best mystery series around, if you ask me, and it’s always fun to read a book and then see the movie as a group!

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie: The queen of mystery can’t not be on this list. And Then There Were None tells the story of ten strangers led to a mysterious mansion only to be killed off, one by one. This one will keep everyone on the edge of their seat, and itching for the next Christie mystery.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt: The snow in the mountains was melting and Bunny had been dead for several weeks before we came to understand the gravity of our situation. With an opening line like that, who could help but to read on? More of a mystery in reverse, the reader finds out about the death at the start of the book…it’s the “why” that’s so much more complicated.

What are some of your favorite mysteries? What do you like reading with your book club (real or imaginary!)

12 comments

  1. Now you’ve made me want to read some good mysteries! I have The Good Girl on my list, but I own The Dinner and The Secret History and haven’t read them yet. I wasn’t going to read them next, but maybe I will have to reconsider. I loved Before I Go To Sleep.

  2. There are some very interesting mysteries on your list! I’ve only read Before I Go To Sleep, The Cuckoo’s Calling and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo myself so far, but quite a few titles have just made it to my TBR list. 🙂

  3. I still think The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series is the best mystery series I’ve ever read! I’ve had The Dinner on my TBR for a long time..I need to get to it! I wasn’t as big of a fan of The Silent Wife, but I think the labels of “the next Gone Girl” did it a disservice.

    1. They really are. I just read that someone else is picking up where Stieg Larsson left off with the series…I’m excited but wondering how it will match up. I actually stopped reading The Silent Wife about half way because I got bored! I’m going to try to pick it back up…but it’s definitely NOT the next Gone Girl!

  4. You’ve got some great choices. Have you read The Husband’s Secret? Loved it, also enjoyed The Girl on the Train, tho it’s had so much hype it lost some of it’s appeal. I love a good mystery/psychological thriller.

Leave a Reply

