Ten Books That Would Make Great Movies

Happy Tuesday! This is my first Top Ten Tuesday in what feels like ages, and there’s no set topic this week, so I figured I could find something to dive back in with. Katie at Words for Worms did the nicest post about her favorite blogs, which you should scope out…both Katie’s and everyone else’s! Stefani at Caught Read Handed explains ten reasons why you should read comics (you should!), Shannon at River City Reading did a great list of book that are already movies, and I’m here with a list of book I wish would become movies.

I did a post like this once before, with different books, and I know I’m supposed to tell you that the book is ALWAYS BETTER. (It usually is). But that doesn’t mean I don’t love when my favorite books come to life! It’s going to be a different experience, but that’s a given. Anyway, here are ten (okay, seven) books that I think would make great movies, because they’re great books, and a good story is just a good story.

Title

Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offill – Think of the soundtrack though. It could be great. It would make a really good indie film, I feel it in my bones.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt – I just would love to see the drama of this played out on a big screen. I feel like we can incorporate Benedict Cumberbatch into this somehow. I always feel that way though…

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – I feel like this is actually bound to happen, but it would be so, so great.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins – YES, ALREADY. Maybe I love it too much, I don’t know.

The Storied Life of AJ Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin – Trying really hard to pick the perfect AJ and coming up short, but I know he is out there. And Maya would be so adorable, OMG.

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell – I know it’s coming. But can it come a little faster?

While we’re talking about Rainbow Rowell… Landline! I need to see this time travelling phone thing in action.

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng – I love a good mystery, whether it’s a movie or in a book, I don’t discriminate, and I think this one would translate so well to a movie.

What books do you think would make the best movies? Or are you anti-book to movie adaptation?

7 comments

  1. I really need to read The Secret History, but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. If it’s something that would suit Benedict Cumberbatch, then it’s definitely something I want to read! 🙂
    Great idea for a TTT!

  2. Would love to see AJ Fikry on screen! I’m not sure about We Were Liars, though. It all hinges on the big reveal…which has already been revealed. But, Gone Girl was the same way and it’s done well. The Girl on the Train: I’m reading it now and YES! Totally agree.

    I remember loving The Secret History, but it’s been so long since I read it that I can’t really judge whether it’d be a good movie. But, I read a debut last year that reminded me a bit of Secret History and I think would make a great movie – Black Chalk by Christopher J. Yates.

  3. Yes, I would love to see Everything I Never Told You and The Secret History too – I think they could be really atmospheric on screen. I think the film rights of The Girl on the Train have already been sold so hopefully we won’t have to wait too long for that one!

Leave a Reply

