A Look Back, and a Look Ahead

very happyHappy New Year!  I’m blanking but I don’t think I made very many concrete resolutions last year. I still wasn’t sure what I wanted the blog to be like aside from books, and more books. I knew I wanted to create my own content and not only have reviews and Top Ten Tuesday posts (though I love them dearly), and I wanted to expand my audience and followers.

I think in the past year I’ve achieved these things, although yesterday I looked back through my archived posts and realized it wasn’t until about six months ago that I really felt like I liked what I was saying and how I was writing it. In the past three months, I’ve written for Thought Catalog and Bustle, and my Books for Serial Fans was featured on BlogHer, and I think that’s really helped show me how to write for an audience better than ever.

In the next year, though, I have some definite goals to work toward:

  • Continue writing more creative posts and keeping things interesting. Maybe include more posts to spark discussions.
  • Keeping with the creative element, I want to get better at making graphics with PicMonkey and now Canva, so readers know at a quick glance what I’m talking about.
  • Attempt this 50 Book Challenge. I feel like it’ll encourage me to read outside of the genres I typically go for.
  • Read and comment and interact with more blogs and bloggers, because that’s really the best part!

What was your favorite part of 2014? What are you looking forward to in 2015?

3 comments

  1. It sounds like you had a fantastic year and have great goals, too. I think I definitely had a moment about six months ago where blogging seemed to kind of click into place for me a little better, too. It’s a great feeling!

  2. Hey there! Your last resolution (meeting other bloggers) is a goal of mine too – so, hello! I love reflecting on past year’s achievements too- even more so than making resolutions. Going over the good things that have happened in the past year, sets up a great following year. May have written a blog post about it too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

