A Month of Favorites: 5 Favorite New to Me Authors

amonthoffaves

Last night, I watched The Santa Clause for the first time, and just like that, the Christmas season is here! Since I love Christmas and books equally, I decided to join December’s Month of Favorites hosted by Estella’s Revenge, Traveling With T, and Girlxoxo. This way, when it comes to picking favorites at the end of the year, maybe it won’t be as hard as it usually is? Maybe. Probably not. I decided to go with 5 of my favorite new to me authors of 2014. This year, I finally got around to reading so many great authors I’d heard so much about, without ever having read. For example…

  • Donna Tartt (The Goldfinch, The Secret History)
  • Roxane Gay (Bad Feminist)
  • Neil Gaiman (The Ocean at the End of the Lane, The Graveyard Book, Fortunately, the Milk)
  • Haruki Murakami (Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage, Norwegian Wood)
  • E. Lockhart (We Were Liars)
PicMonkey Collage2

This year definitely opened my eyes to some new favorite authors, and I definitely can’t wait to read more by these five! Who were some of your favorite discoveries this year?

12 comments

  1. I’m with you on Tartt, though I only read The Goldfinch. The Secret History is definitely on my list! And I also finally read Neil Gaiman and was charmed and kind of terrified by The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I finally gave in to Rainbow Rowell and Diana Gabaldon so I know more of their work is in my future. And I think I love Charlie Lovett and Kate Williams as well.

    1. The Ocean at the end of the Lane seriously creeped me out when he talked about the worm hole in his foot! I haven’t heard of Charlie Lovett or Kate Williams though, I’ll have to check them out! I read a lot of Rowell at the end of last year and absolutely love her! Landline was one of my favorites this year.

  2. What a great author list! I loved The Goldfinch and We Were Liars (Lockhart is a new to me author for this year as well). And, while I haven’t read Bad Feminist, I loved Gay’s An Untamed State. Finally, while I didn’t like Murakami’s Colorless, I LOVED his chunkster, 1Q84.

Leave a Reply

