Review: Yes Please, by Amy Poehler

IMG_8280

I feel like it’s been ages since I did an actual review. What better way to find my way back, though, than with Amy Poehler’s Yes Please. I’ve been excited about this since I found out it was going to be A Thing, and preordered it way back in August. I came home the other day, plopped down, and read it straight through for hours. Yes Please is just as amazing as you thought it would be. It was funny and inspiring and Amy Poehler for president 2016.

The book is broken into three sections:

  • Say Whatever You Want poehler
  • Do Whatever You Like
  • Be Whoever You Are

Each section is filled with personal stories, snippets of gossip, and words of wisdom from a woman who has traversed improv, SNL, TV shows, and movies. We get to learn first hand how she worked her way from Boston College to Chicago to LIVE FROM NEW YORK ITS SATURDAY NIGHT. We hear about her decades long friendship with Tina Fey, and how the cast of Parks and Rec became her family and support system. (Side note: She includes the script of the Ben/Leslie proposal and vows and I won’t lie to you, I cried again reading it just like I did when I watched it). Some of my favorite parts were her talking about the cast of Parks, especially her friendship with Rashida Jones and Aubrey Plaza.

Fun Fact: When Amy was going through her divorce from Will Arnett and was sad and scared to return to L.A., Aubrey Plaza dressed up as an alien and surprised her at the airport.

She also gives us a glimpse into the not-so-good things, and how she over came them. The “demon” as she calls it, that haunts us all and tells us bad things about ourselves. How she has always been a “bad sleeper” and covets sleep more than anything else, but can rarely get it. Seeing all of the sides of Amy Poehler made her feel like less of a celebrity and more like a friend telling me a story.

There were some really inspirational quotes throughout the book, too. I don’t want to say I’m surprised, because I knew she was/is an activist and feminist and in general good person. I was expecting to laugh, but I wasn’t expecting to want to break out a highlight, you know?

Ambivalence is key. You have to care about your work but not about the result. You have to care about how good you are and how good you feel, but not about how good people think you are or how good people think you look.

XXX POEHLER YES PLEASE BOOKS JY 3767 .JPG A FEAYes Please was a quick read and so enjoyable, I wish I was best friends with Amy Poehler. It definitely lived up to my expectations and beyond. This was a great year for memoirs and non-fiction by women, and this is definitely one to get your hands on, and fast.

Are you an Amy Poehler fan? A Parks and Rec fan for life like me?

10 comments

  1. I’m saving this book for a middle of winter pick-me-up. It’ll probably be mid-January when the sads really set in and Amy will be the antidote. I’m sure it will only increase my desire to have Amy attend my imaginary slumber party.

Leave a Reply

