Characters I Wish Would Get Their Own Books: Top Ten Tuesday

Hello and happy Tuesday! This week at The Broke and the Bookish, the buzz is all about secondary characters who should have their own books. I tend to love the side plots of books, so I was excited for this one! Here we go:

1. Boris from The Goldfinch – Probably/definitely the best book I read so far this year, Boris was so entertaining, I would love to see what he gets up to when he’s not helping Theo with international art theft.

2. Old Jiko from A Tale For the Time Being – Jiko was the most interesting and inspiring 104 year old I could ever imagine. I want to know all about her anarchist, feminist, buddhist priest self.

3. Lettie Hempstock from The Ocean at the End of the Lane – She is at once a side character and completely necessary to make the story what it is. I want to know where she went at the end of the book, and where she came from to begin with. Also, does she know Eliza Hempstock from The Graveyard Book? So many questions, come on Neil Gaiman help a girl out.

4. Bunny from The Secret History – What can I say, Donna Tartt writes the best characters, side or otherwise.

5. The Miniaturist from The Miniaturist – A whole book focused on her and we get almost no information! That or I just am still really wishing this book wasn’t over yet.

6. Greta from Tell the Wolves I’m Home – It’s been like five minutes since I’ve talked about it, so. I think it would be really interesting to see things form her point of view, and what was going on in her mind throughout the story.

7. Ammu from The God of Small Things – I think she is such a complex character, and we see so little of her background and story, a whole book could be dedicated to her, really.

8. Alaska Young from Looking for Alaska – Again, the book is named after her and we see her only through Pudge’s eyes. I want to know what she was thinking, and of course, where she was going that night.

That’s all I can come up with, from some of my favorite stories that I’m not quite ready to be done with yet. What’s on your list this week?

7 comments

  1. I put Alaska on my list as well- I couldn’t resist! I didn’t even think of the Goldfinch for some reason, but Boris is a really good one! It would be really interesting to read about what he thinks of Theodore’s predicament. Great list!

Leave a Reply

