Book Shop Stop: Mostly Books, Philadelphia

IMG_7991

Hello! It’s Monday but I’m not even mad, because I spent Sunday in the best way possible: brunching and browsing books. My boyfriend heard about this store and thought I would love it and of course I did. (How could I not?) Mostly Books looks like an abandoned warehouse/barn type building, and goes back forever with room upon room of books. I’m always hunting for new book stores to go to, and I’m SO happy to have discovered this one. There is an entire room for almost every section: fiction, literature, nonfiction (sociology, poli-sci, etc), biography, travel, it goes on and on.

On a side street right off of busy South Street, Mostly Books seems to be hidden in plain sight from the usual troves of people, and I was happy to stroll through the quiet store for ages. It has everything old, used books stores need: creaky wood floors, comfy chairs everywhere you turn, and coffee pots placed on top of shelves.

IMG_7985I ended up leaving with Joan Didion’s A Book of Common Prayer and Adulting: How to Become a Grown-up in 468 Easy(ish) Steps by Kelly Williams Brown. I’ve been wanting to read some of Joan Didion’s fiction for a while now, and when I saw that sitting on top of a stack of books it was like it was meant for me. I bought Adulting on a whim, but after flipping through, it seemed too funny to leave behind!

It’s been forever since I did a post about a book store, but I thought Mostly Books needed all the attention I could give it. Plus, since this blog started out as a way to tour local book stores, I wanted to bring it back!

What’s your favorite part of your local book store?

6 comments

Leave a Reply

