Things That Go Bump In the Night : 10 Books to Read for Halloween

October is one of my favorite months, if that wasn’t abundantly clear in my Fall post. It’s apple and pumpkin picking season, Halloween is on it’s way, and it’s the perfect time to read a scary book. I started out October with Stephen King, perfect, right? But now I want to continue on my scary path so, inspired by Lucy at The Reading Date, I decided to make my own #FullSpookOctober reading list!

PicMonkey Collage2

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman: This isn’t scary so much as ‘nervous-feeling-in-the-pit-of-your-stomach’ inducing, but it’s creepy in it’s own way and the atmosphere is perfect for fall and Halloween. Neil Gaiman said so himself!

IMG_7793

Salem’s Lot by Stephen King: This one will make you scared to go in your dark basement alone. Bonus: The Shining by Stephen King: This is up next on my never ending ‘catch-up-on-all-Stephen King’ list. Don’t let me do it alone!

Nightmares! by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller: A more fun kind of scary about a boy having bad dreams.

Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes: So far I’ve been too chicken to read this, but a creepy killer is loose in Detroit.

Dear Daughter by Elizabeth Little: I’ve heard that this does for mothers and daughters what Gilian Flynn’s Gone Girl did for marriage, so I’m nervously excited to start this!

PicMonkey Collage3

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn: Gone Girl is getting the popularity right now, but Sharp Objects was just as scary, if not more so!

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman: Another kid-friendly Halloween read, but the illustrations make is creepy in the best way.

A Man Came Out of a Door in the Mountain by Adrienne Harun: Something is not right in the woods of British Columbia, and a group of friends is about to experience true evil in their small logging town.

Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson: Imagine waking up everyday unable to remember anything at all. That’s Christine’s life. But the question is why?

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs: I feel like this is likely to be on every Halloween list but for good reason! (Don’t forget to follow up with Hollow City!) 

For more suggestions, I enjoyed this Thought Catalog list!

You’re never too old for scary stories! What are some of your favorites?

3 comments

  1. I liked Before I Go To Sleep, and I would like to read The Graveyard Book with my kids, and A Man Who Came Out a Door in the Mountain. A few months ago I read The Troop by Nick Cutter, which was pretty creepy. Gross, too, if you like ghouly graphics.

Leave a Reply

