There Must Always Be a Thor

girlthor

I’ve always loved The Avengers. And Marvel. And especially The Guardians of the Galaxy. I’ve never been big on actual comic books though, aside from a graphic novel here and there. Anyway, you can imagine my excitement when I heard that Thor was being re-imagined…as a girl. One of relatively few in the Marvel universe, if I’m not mistaken. Of course Wonder Woman has been iconic for decades, but no one has reached her level of popularity in recent years, not even Scarlett Johannson as Black Widow.

The first edition in the new series was really just a setup, explaining how Thor lost his powers, and the hammer stopped responding to him. Asgard itself was under the rule of Thor’s mother, who I loved because she was sarcastic and never let Odin try and bully his way back into power. But of course…

On the last two pages, the abandoned hammer is picked up again, by a mysterious woman. I’m assuming we will find out her identity as the series goes on, and I can’t wait to see who it is. Not that I’m likely to recognize her, but that’s not the point. The point is more young girls will have one more powerful role model, Marvel is reinventing an already great superhero, and I’m excited about it.

I’m slowly being converted into a comic book person by my boyfriend, but do you have any favorite comics or graphic novels? Are you excited about girl Thor?

One comment

Leave a Reply

