Fun Fall Things for Bookish People

fall11

I should start out by saying that I am that person who is obsessed with fall, the one who starts buying sweaters the minute the stores start putting them out (in July). The weather though! Cool but not cold, so you can still comfortably drink iced coffee (or iced chai!), wearing a sweater and boots but not a coat. Reading outside is the best during the fall, because you’re not melting OR feeling like you’re suffering through Elsa’s eternal winter. Everything is pumpkin-y and spicy and smells amazing, and as some kind of added bonus: apple picking. If you don’t appreciate fall…I have some questions, is all I’m saying.

SO, to celebrate the beginning of my favorite season, I made a list of some Autumn Essentials for the Average Bookworm.

IMG_7402

Let’s start with the obvious: the books. Some books just strike me as perfect for fall. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, for one. Tell the Wolves I’m Home, is another. Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl is a good one if you’re feeling like getting into the back to school spirit. Stephen King is also perfect for the upcoming Halloween season, and I personally plan to read Salem’s Lot very soon.

pumpkin-bread-ck-1854015-lPumpkin Bread (or cookies, muffins, anything pretty much goes): One of life’s small pleasures is a cup of coffee and some pumpkin bread. My boyfriend and I made pumpkin cookies the other day, and those were delicious, too. Here’s a pumpkin bread recipe, if you’re feeling up for baking.

Seasonal scented candles: If you tell me you can walk by Bath & Body Works without being drawn in by those displays and mountains of candles, I choose to believe you’re lying. Green Apple Orchard, Pumpkin Apple, and Flannel, are some of my favorites. Set yourself some ambiance when you curl up reading this fall.

pBBW1-19118823v275Pumpkin flavored coffee: If you prick me during fall I’ll probably bleed pumpkin spice.

If coffee isn’t your cup of tea…Chai tea (Or your flavor of choice. I am clearly biased.) This is the season when all the flavored chais come out of hiding too. Pumpkin, vanilla, chocolate, etc. Drink ALL THE CHAI.

Finally…The perfect blanket. I have my eye on this leaves one from Barnes and Noble. I sadly don’t need another one but…you might!

These are a few of my favorite parts of fall, what are yours?

8 comments

  1. I’ve always been an in-between seasons kind of girl – for the exact reason that the weather isn’t extreme in any form and I’m all about layers. But I feel like Fall wasn’t always the go-to favourite season it seems to have become in the last 3 years. I miss everyone else feeling like the world has ended because the summer is over and getting to sit quietly in my corner of the world with a book, a cup of tea and a blanket like Fall was my own little secret.

  2. Oh, yes! I love fall too. Call me a nerd, but it reminds me of going back to school, which is basically what I consider to be the new “new year”. Plus, the delicious fall spices make the season so great! (I probably bleed pumpkin spice too…)

Leave a Reply

