FREADOM: Banned Books Week 2014

ABFFE

Hello and happy Banned Books Week! I think I’ve always taken for granted the freedom I was given to read from a young age. I can’t remember a time my parents, teachers, or really anyone told me I couldn’t read something. I think that’s why Banned Books Week is so important: it reminds us of the importance of reading and having access to books of all genres and written by authors of all backgrounds. Imagine if you had been more limited in what you were allowed to or had access to read when you were younger, you might not be here today, reading this. If I were more limited, I might not be here writing it. I mean, Harry Potter tops the list of most banned books, and it was one of the first to instill a love of reading in me and millions of other kids. Some of the most important, classic books of all time (looking at you, To Kill a Mockingbird) are repeatedly challenged every year, and new ones are added all the time.

atticus

I wrote earlier in the year about Sherman Alexie’s The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian being challenged by parents at an Idaho high school, and I learned from Leah’s post that Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park was also recently challenged. Favorites old and new are being called into question everyday, and it’s so important that we appreciate the books we have and love, and continue to promote literacy and access to reading at all levels.

To celebrate, Bannedbooksweek.org shared a timeline of banned books, and the reasons behind the challenges of each. I thought it was pretty interesting to see how the reasons progressed as time went on, but more interesting to note how many of them stayed the same over time. (Race, sexuality, language seem to always be a factor.)

It’s important to realize that the things most often challenged in these novels offer the biggest lessons, especially for people reading them at the high school (or middle school, etc) level. Through books like The Catcher in the Rye, To Kill a Mockingbird, Beloved, Harry Potter, and every other title on the list, children, teenagers, and adults alike learn not just a love of reading, but a growing sense of empathy, sympathy, compassion, and knowledge. Read ALL the banned books this week!

What are some of your favorite banned books??

7 comments

  1. I cannot imagine ever telling my children that they couldn’t read a book. I’d maybe read it along with them to know what they were reading but that’s so it can then be discussed. I love Banned Books Week because it’s such a reminder to cherish reading freedom. Like you said, Harry Potter was a banned book and it was basically single handedly responsible for renewing a love of reading in an entire generation of kids!

    1. I can’t imagine limiting my children in their reading, either, and especially not Harry Potter! I can’t wait to pass those on. I’d be the one piling books on their little shelf saying “we have to read this next!”

  2. It’s so tough for me to pick favorite banned books, but The Handmaid’s Tale is really high on the list. Also, And Tango Makes Three because homosexual penguins making a family for themselves?! I might have cried a little. In a good way. I was completely APPALLED to see E&P challenged and I just read The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian in preparation for this event (review/ranting goes live on Thursday :).) I get really stabby when people start telling me what I should and shouldn’t read. Grrrrr…

    1. Me too! I’ve never read the Handmaid’s Tale somehow, but I think my favorites have to be The Catcher in the Rye and Perks of Being a Wallflower…maybe I just like whiners, who knows.

Leave a Reply

