READ ALL THE THINGS: A Top Ten List

Hello and happy Tuesday! I have to admit that once I read a book and like it, I try to scope out all of that author’s work and inhale it. Then I’m sad when there’s none left. (This is why I’m saving Donna Tartt’s The Little Friend for a rainy day: it’s my LAST ONE!) Anyway, I’m joining the girls at The Broke and the Bookish this week in talking about the authors we’ve loved once, and need to read again.

1. Jonathan Tropper: I just finished This is Where I Leave You and loved it. I found another Tropper novel, The Book of Joe at a used book store a couple days later, so naturally I grabbed it. I haven’t heard anything about it, but I’m hoping it has his same wit and style of writing.

2. Joan Didion: I read The Year of Magical Thinking at the beginning of the summer, but I know she has so many more books of essays, as well as novels, that I want to read.

3. E. Lockhart: My first Lockhart novel was the much buzzed about We Were Liars, but I know she has several other popular YA books that I want to check out next time I’m in the mood for young adult!

4. Jessie Burton: Okay so The Miniaturist was her first book. But I loved it, please write more soon.

5. Jojo Moyes: I’ve seen all the bright shiny covers with their big fonts staring at me, and after Me Before You, I know it’s only a matter of time before I pick one up!

….And that’s all I can come up with. I guess that goes to show that once I like someone, I REALLY like them. That, or like Jessie Burton, they’ve only written one book so far! Who are some authors you’ve been meaning to read more by?

7 comments

  1. This is a slippery slope. I once read My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult and then I started buying all her books and got sick of them. I overdosed. The same thing started happening with Philippa Gregory (although in my opinion she has just started phoning it in which is why I now get her new books from the library). I like what you are saying about Jessie Burton though! I’m DYING to read The Miniaturist.

    1. I did the same thing with Jodi Picoult! I think I burned myself out on her writing at the time though, because now when her new ones come out I can’t seem to be bothered!

      The Miniaturist was amazing!!

  2. I love seeing Jonathan Tropper on your list! I just met him yesterday at his movie screening (I sound so LA) and he has a lot of interesting things to say. Can’t wait to hear what you think of Book of Joe. And I’m with you about Jojo Moyes, and NEED to read more!

Leave a Reply

