I’ll Get To It! A Top Ten List

Hello and happy Tuesday once again! This week the ladies at The Broke and The Bookish are talking about all those books people have recommended to you, their resident book reader, but you’ve never gotten around to. I know I’m forever saying “yeah yeah I will, EVENTUALLY” but there are still so many that get recommended so often. Here are my top ten:

1. Ready Player One, by Ernst Clines 

2. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

3. Cloud Atlas, by David Mitchell

4. Outlander – by Diana Gabaldon

5. The Lord of the Rings Series – by J.R.R. Tolkein (This one will most likely never happen, but I hear it all the time!)

6. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I’ve read a couple here and there, but I’m really not into short stories, and for once I think I’ll stick with the movies and Sherlock instead

7. All of the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

8. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer – Something about them just doesn’t appeal to me!

9. Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford – This mainly comes up when I mention how much I loved The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, I think because of the time period. 

10. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin – I hear this one endlessly, but I’ve TRIED, I promise, and I don’t think it’s going to happen. 

I think most of the titles on this list could be combined with last week’s topic, which I missed: Books I’m Not Sure if I Want to Read. 

What are some things you’re always being told you MUST read?

9 comments

  1. Ender’s Game is one of my favorite science fiction series! Anything by Orson Scott Card is fantastic. I’m always told I should read Game of Thrones as well, but I’ve never tried to read it. I’m too intimidated. 🙂

  2. Well if you read one of the books on this list it should really be All The Light We Cannot See. Or Outlander. I’ve been told to read The Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet as well and early on in my book club they tried with Ender’s Game. I don’t think Ender’s Game will ever happen, neither will LOTR. I think when you’re as hardcore a reader as we are, it’s hard to take on recommendations because either you’ve already read them or you have such a long list of your own already that adding more just seems too much.

  3. I’m so ashamed of my inability to finish the LOTR series… But at the same time I’m irrationally hostile toward the books because I cannot maintain consciousness while reading it.

Leave a Reply

