So You Want to Read About the Lost Generation: A Top Ten List

Hello and happy Tuesday! This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, is books you would recommend to someone who has never read a certain genre. Since my favorite thing is forever The Lost Generation, I figured I would put together a starter kit of books that are either about or by the people of the Lost Generation, namely my favorites: Fitzgerald and Hemingway.

LOST1.jpg 1. Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, by Therese Fowler

2. The Paris Wife, by Paula McLain

3. Mrs. Hemingway, by Naomi Wood

4. Call me Zelda, by Erika Robuck

5. Hemingway’s Girl, by Erika Robuck

 6. The Sun Also Rises, by Ernest Hemingway

7. The Beautiful and Damned, by F. Scott Fitzgerald

8. A Moveable Feast, by Ernest Hemingway

9. The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas, by Gertrude Stein

10. Shakespeare and Company, by Sylvia BeachLost2.jpg

Bonus real life wife biographies:

Zelda, by Nancy Milford

Paris Without End, by Gioia Diliberto

If I do say so myself, this is a pretty good place to start if you’ve never read much about The Lost Generation before. You could watch Midnight in Paris, which is one of the best movies of all time, too. Tom Hiddleston is excellent as Fitzgerald.

Do you love Paris of the 1920’s? What are your favorite books about it if so??

11 comments

  1. I love the 1920s! I have ‘Z.’ ‘Call Me Zelda,’ and ‘The Sun Also Rises’ on my TBR and I read ‘The Paris Wife’ already. Truthfully, it’s not my favorite. ‘The Aviator’s Wife’ is a good one, too!

Leave a Reply

