Lemony Snicket, Defender of the Little Free Library

LS

– Lemony Snicket, The Reptile Room

I’ve been hearing a lot lately about Spencer Collins, the nine year old that opened a Little Free Library as a mother’s day gift a couple of months ago. His neighbors complained, and the city was ready to shut it down, as it violated a code against free standing structures.

For those who aren’t familiar with Little Free Libraries, they’re small, bird-house type houses in which people take and leave books as they finish them, creating a neighborhood wide bond through books.

Having constructed the Library as a gift for his mother and a way to reach out and get to know his neighbors, Spencer’s case was quickly defended, both by friends and family, and by the 30,000+ people who support his cause on facebook.

The most recent development in Spencer Collins’ story is Lemony Snicket (aka Daniel Handler) stepping in to support Spencer, and libraries everywhere. Snicket is sending him copies of his own books, including those from his latest series, All the Wrong Reasons, as it features a librarian as the hero. Snicket also noted that rather giving his own advice to Spencer Collins, he would “rather be advised by this librarian on what [he] ought to read next.”

I’ve always loved Lemony Snicket and The Series of Unfortunate Events books when I was younger, and it made me so happy to see that he was defending this little kid, who only set out to do something nice for his family and neighbors. As of the other day, the mayor had said they could look into making an exception for Spencer’s library. YAAAAS for Daniel Handler and people coming to their senses!

Do you have a Little Free Library near you? I so wish I did!

 

3 comments

  1. I’m lucky enough to have a Little Free Library 10 minutes away from my house. It’s always so fun to stop by and visit it! Though two days ago someone took ALL the books and even the message book for the library. I’m planning on going there soon with some books to replenish the stock! I’m so happy that Spencer is so well defended – I hope he gets to keep his library 🙂

    1. I do too! I’m jealous you have one so close, though I think I found one the other day if I saw correctly…hopefully some investigating will lead to a little library and not just snooping around !

Leave a Reply

