Summer Reading: Back to School Edition

I don’t know about you, but I was always one of those people who never really minded summer reading, but somehow always ended up waiting until the absolute last minute to start it, and therefore never really finished it, or got as much out of the books as I could have. And…this was not always just in the summer, but during the year as well. SO, I decided that it might be interesting to use this summer to go back and re-read some of those assigned books I might not have fully enjoyed at the time, or did enjoy and want to revisit. I’m doing this knowing I won’t get to all of them this summer, but I could keep the idea in mind as an ongoing project or feature on the blog. So, join me in my back to school reading!

20140621-150257-54177008.jpg

The Awakening, by Kate Chopin

Rebecca, by Daphne du Maurier

Their Eyes Were Watching God, by Zora Neale Hurston

The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Beloved, by Toni Morrison

A Separate Peace, by John Knowles

20140621-150257-54177897.jpg

Jane Eyre, by Charlotte Bronte (I have never read this, I’m not sure how I escaped both high school and college as an English major without it, but I feel like a fraud for not having read it yet).

Great Expectations OR A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens (I liked these but read them so fast to finish on time that I feel like I missed a lot of what people love about them).

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Tess of the d’Urbervilles, by Thomas Hardy

Invisible Man, by Ralph Ellison

20140621-150258-54178736.jpg

What were some of your favorite or least favorite books you read in high school (or even college) that you want to go back and read again? Let me know what I should add to my list, I want to keep it going!

4 comments

  1. This is a cool reading challenge! I’m still in high school, and my assigned reading for the summer is A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving and A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens.

  2. I’m glad I had to read The God of Small Things for my final years at high school!
    It is one of my favourite books.A real gem! 🙂
    You should read it,if you haven’t already done so.

    I also read Passage to India which was great as well,but certainly not as much as God of Small Things.The rest were mostly plays.

Leave a Reply

