Review: We Were Liars, by E. Lockhart

liarsA beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

 

Welcome to the beautiful Sinclair family…

AHHH THIS BOOK. That’s all I could say after finishing, and all I am inclined to say now. I included the Goodreads/book flap summary because I’m afraid to give anything away by writing my own.

We Were Liars is an absolutely brilliant book, lyrical and beautifully written from start to finish. This is only further enhanced by Cady’s penchant for writing her own versions of fairy tales throughout the novel. It will keep you guessing until the final, unbelievable twist, and if you’re like me, your jaw will likely drop. While you’re reading you feel like you’re watching events unfold through a kind of haze, like you’re right there, but not quite. This actually helps set the tone, as it is much like Cady’s own thoughts after her accident: blurry and unfocused.

I loved the Liars. Their incredibly close knit, yet questionable friendship reeled me right in. Gat, especially was my favorite. I’m not sure if I was reading too much into it but I got a GATsby feeling from him. An outsider who found his way into an extremely rich group of friends and struggles to keep up and fit in with them and their way of thinking. Though he compares himself to Heathcliff, I couldn’t help but think Gatsby.

One of my favorite aspects of the book was E. Lockhart’s tendency to break off from full sentences to short, poem-like sentences. It gave me a better, more personal feel for Cady and her thoughts, however jumbled they may have been. And her descriptions of migraines and the unending pain they bring was completely spot on. As someone who gets migraines weekly, E. Lockhart described the pain in a way I was never able. “I suffer migraines. I do not suffer fools.”

So, yes. Run to your nearest book store and grab this book as soon as you can. It’s riveting and short and you will finish it in a blur of page turning, trying to figure out the jaw dropping ending.

Just a few favorite quotes:

“I am not talking about fate. I don’t believe in destiny or soul mates or the supernatural. I just mean we understood each other. All the way.”

“We looked at the sky. So many stars, it seemed like a celebration, a grand, illicit party the galaxy was holding after the humans had been put to bed.”

Have you read We Were Liars yet? Are E. Lockhart’s other books as amazing as this one?

4 comments

  1. Oh, I can’t wait to get my own copy of this book! Everyone really seems to enjoy this book and I can’t wait to read it myself, having seen your review. I’m glad you liked it 🙂 Great review!

  2. I absolutely LOVED this book! I didn’t see the ending coming at all! Now that you mention it, Gat definitely did have a Gatsby feel to him… I wonder if E. Lockhart used F. Scott Fitzgerald’s character as inspiration for her own?
    Great review! 🙂

Leave a Reply

