You’re One in a Million: A Top Ten List

Image

Here we are at Tuesday once again, and the ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish are talking about the most unique books they’ve ever read. As (almost) always, I’m coming to join them! Here are some of the books that come to mind that are different from everything else I’ve read. Things that have little to no comparison, at least in my opinion.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer: There are other epistolary novels out there, I know. But the setting and the post WWII atmosphere and more than anything the quirky, memorable characters, you won’t find anywhere else.

Where’d You Go, Bernadette? by Maria Semple. Bernadette and Bee are definitely two very unlikely main characters. Witty and fun and sarcastic, I’ve never read a character like Bernadette before or since.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. Much like it’s characters, Miss Peregrine is peculiar in the best way. The incorporation of the old photos, the abilities of the children, everything just draws you in and sticks in your brain.

ImageWritten on the Body by Jeanette Winterson. The narrator of this one is both nameless and genderless, and I’ve never seen anything else like that, except for maybe A in Everyday, but I didn’t like that even half as much as Written on the Body. 

The Family Fang by Kevin Wilson. The antics of this family were truly bizarre to me, but they were often hilarious and the book itself was completely unique and quirky. When I saw that the topic for today was unique books, this was actually the first to pop into my head.

A Dog’s Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron. THE DOG IS THE NARRATOR GUYS. The book is told from the point of view of a dog as he lives and dies in different bodies with different families. I laughed and cried the whole way through.

ImageGlaciers by Alexis M. Smith: Told over the course of one day and focusing on the small details and thoughts of that time, this book tells a beautiful story that was different from anything else I’ve ever read.

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. I feel like most people think of this as just another young adult romance but there’s a lot of very real things in this book, a bi-racial couple, abuse, poverty, that you don’t see a lot of, especially in romances.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. I feel like I haven’t stopped talking about this since I read it, but it’s so interesting and Don is so adorably quirky that I just love him.

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. Maybe if I read Donna Tartt’s other books I would have something to compare this one too, but so far, nothing.

Image

Bonus: I think soon to be on this list is A Man Came Out of a Door in the Mountain, by Adrianne Harun, which I just started but already is standing out for me as unlike anything else.

Which books stick out as most unique for you?

7 comments

Leave a Reply

