Books I’d Love to be Movies

I know as a reader I’m supposed to be all suspicious of books being turned into movies, but sometimes I finish a book and can’t help but think what a good movie it would be. Here are just some of them:

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan. I liked this book okay but it didn’t live up to the hype for me. I think for once, this one would be better as a movie. We can get Dave Franco or someone to play Clay…or anything, really.

The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty. Another 20’s ish era book that would be amazing as a movie. Cora and Louise’s adventures would come to life even further as a film.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I’m actually pretty surprised this isn’t a movie yet. I mean, think of all the special effects and stuff they could do, with all kinds of good piano instrumental music and songs created just for the movie and just YES, PLEASE.

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt. I almost don’t want to include what is probably my favorite book of all time on a list of movies but I just…think what a great indie movie it would make. With new/unknown actresses to play June and Greta? And a really mellow soundtrack… Just think about it. It would be BEAUTIFUL.

The Paris Wife by Paula McClain. Midnight in Paris can’t be the ONLY movie about the authors of the lost generation, it’s my favorite time period. And this book just feeds right into that. Corey Stoll can reprise his role as Hemingway because he was perfect. Plus, think of all the music from the twenties that could be in it.

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. Yes, I just finished this, and yes I just saw the news article saying the people who did The Hunger Games movies are sniffing around The Goldfinch and I NEED THIS TO HAPPEN. But maybe two movies so nothing at all is left out. This is another one that lends itself to good music, with all the classical Pippa and Theo talk about, and the music he keeps forever for his mother.

I could definitely envision a ton of books as movies, but I’ll save the rest for a Part Two post another time, since this was actually a lot of fun to imagine! Which books do you wish would be made into movies?

5 comments

  1. Ooooh I like this! I second lots of those, including Tell the Wolves I’m Home but really my favorite for a movie would be The Night Circus!!! It was such a beautiful read (and I’m not one of those sappy omg-the-writing-is-beautiful kind of people) but I loved the descriptions!

  2. I kind of want to see Tell The Wolves I’m Home as a movie,but I would be really obnoxious about demanding it stick to the details. It’s so hard to get a good movie adaptation, and so much harder to be pleased when it’s a book you looooove!

    1. I know I would be too, but I can’t help but wish someone with really good attention to detail and music would take it up!

      The only movie adaptation I’ve ever really LOVED was The Help, which I thought was perfect!

Leave a Reply

