Review: One More Thing by B.J Novak

Image

My rating: ★★★★★

An eclectic compilation of stories (and other stories), One More Thing is BJ Novak’s first book. A hilarious group of 60 ish stories, varying from several pages to just a few lines, One More Thing seriously has something for everyone. A hare looking for revenge, a boy winning $100,000, a woman on a date with a warlord, and the man who returned the world’s first sex robot are some of many, many loud out loud funny stories.

I should mention that I listened to the audiobook version, and that made it even better. BJ Novak narrates the majority of the stories himself, joined for many of them by Rainn Wilson. Other guest readers include Mindy Kaling, Jenna Fisher, Katy Perry, Emma Thompson, Lena Dunham, Julianne Moore and Carey Mulligan. I had actually never listened to an audiobook before, and thought this would be a good place to start, and definitely was happy with my choice! I was hooked from the very first story and the fact that it was read by BJ Novak made it even funnier, since he read it in his sarcastic, dry tone.

The wit that BJ Novak introduced to the world in The Office makes an amazing reappearance throughout this collection of stories. I was really excited to read it, but found myself still being surprised at just how good it was. Alternately funny and dark, most of the stories seem to have some bigger picture meaning behind them, even ones that seem silly on the surface. I actually bought the physical book about halfway through the audiobook, because I know I’ll go back to it when I need a laugh.

I would definitely recommend this book. To anyone really. If you think you’re not a short story person: neither did I. This will change your mind, I promise. I gave the collection five stars overall because it had me cackling on my drive to school, and it’s rare for books to give me that kind of LOL moment.

Favorite quotes:

“Nobody remembers how long anything takes; they only remember how good it was in the end.” From “The Impatient Billionaire and the Mirror for Earth”

“In my opinion, there are two types of perfect. The first is the type that seems so obvious and intuitive to you and everyone else that in a perfect world it would simply be considered standard; but, in reality, in our flawed world, what should be considered standard is actually so rare that it has to be elevated to the level of “perfect.” This is the type of perfect that makes you and most other people think, “Why isn’t everything like this? Why is it so hard to find …” a black V-neck cotton sweater, or a casual non-chain restaurant with comfortable booths, etc.—“that is just exactly the way everyone knows something like this should be?” “Perfect,” we all say with relief when we finally find something like this that is exactly as it should be. “Perfect. Why was this so hard to find?”The other type of perfect is the type you never could have expected and then could never replicate.” From “Sophia”

“There’s always going to be one more thing. Because that’s what infinite feels like. And the difference between love and everything else is that it’s infinite, it’s built out of something infinite, or it feels like it is, anyway.” From “Sophia”

“If you love something, let it go.
If you don’t love something, definitely let it go.
Basically, just drop everything, who cares.”  From “If You Love Something”

20140305-230841.jpg20140305-230832.jpg

Have you read One More Thing? Which Audiobooks do you recommend?

4 comments

  1. I’ve been eyeing this book for a while, and your review made me want to read it even more. I’m not usually an audiobook person, but I might need to make an exception for this one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

