Top Ten Tuesday: Popular Authors I’ve Never Read

Image

Hello and happy Tuesday! This week The Broke and the Bookish are hosting a discussion on the popular authors they’ve never read, and I can definitely chime in on that front. Whether it’s just not for me, or I have (shamefully, in some cases) never gotten around to it, here are my neglected popular authors:

1. Jane Austen. I know, okay?

2. John Grisham. It was actually B.J Novak who drew my attention to this with his short story about John Grisham and all the books he’s sold. That style of book just isn’t really my cup of tea (coffee).

3. Joan Didion. I’ve heard so many good things about her, and have The Year of Magical Thinking sitting next to me on a shelf, but I haven’t gotten there yet.

4. Neil Gaiman. Another one I’ve heard nothing but positive things about, and whose books I HAVE but have yet to read.

5. Tahereh Mafi. Eventually! Especially since I read a lot of YA and all the nice things Ransom Riggs says about her, aww.

6. E.L James. 50 Shades just isn’t for me, so I don’t plan on really getting around to this one.

7. George Orwell. Like Jane Austen, this one just makes me feel like a bad English major.

8. George R.R. Martin. Game of Thrones (the show and the books) has such an obsessive fan base that I wish I could get into but I just can’t!

9. Danielle Steel. Such a popular author, and I see her books everywhere, but they just scream “mom books” to me.

10. James Patterson. Like John Grisham, his books just don’t appeal to me!

What are some popular authors you just haven’t gotten into yet?

13 comments

  1. Honestly, I don’t really think you’re missing out much on James Patterson’s novels. I can only speak for his YA books, but the ones I have read are not very good. But I do recommend Neil Gaiman- The Ocean at the End of the Lane and Stardust are really good ones!

      1. I read 1984 in high school, and as much as I feel like I should like it, I just don’t! Maybe I will have to give it a try another time.

  2. No sense reading what doesn’t appeal.

    Though I second (or is it third?) the vote for Gaiman. He’s got some variety to his writing–some of it’s scary, some dark, others more dreamy. The Ocean at the End of the Lane is dreamlike, and a short easy read–a good place to start.

    I quite admire the gentle sarcasm Austen uses–especially in Pride & Prejudice.

    1. Definitely going to read The Ocean at the End of the Lane really soon!

      And Jane Austen. I own so many of her books, I’m not sure how I haven’t read any yet.

  3. Hahahahaha! I had never thought of Danielle Steele that way, but really. My mom used to read them all the time back in the day, so I will always equate them with mom jeans. I’ve never read them either.

Leave a Reply

