Review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Image

Finally, a book I read just because I felt like it. I’ve been in a book slump lately and couldn’t get through anything – I’m in the middle of an embarrassing amount of books right now. Anyway, Mindy Kaling’s clever book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me got me out of my rut.

I’d been eyeing this book for a while now, wondering if I would like it. I loved Bossypants but couldn’t get into Paddle Your Own Canoe, so you can see my struggle. Luckily, one of my friends let me borrow their copy, and I flew through it. Part memoir and part witty observances about life, IEHOWM kept me entertained all the way through. Mindy grew up the obedient daughter of Indian immigrants, working hard in school, and never getting into much trouble. She notes early on that one of her biggest pieces of advice is not to peak in high school. In my opinion (and hers) anyone who considers high school “the best four years of their life” is not to be trusted. Mindy goes on to detail her meaningful friendships, and the struggle in breaking into the comedy writing business. Intermixed with the personal details are little anecdotes and ideas about things, which is what made me laugh the most.

Probably the funniest piece in the book, in my opinion, was called “Why Do Men Put on Their Shoes So Slowly?” I cackled through this because I am forever teasing my boyfriend about how long it takes him to put shoes on. At least we know he’s not alone!

20140215-130115.jpg

“I don’t think it should be socially acceptable for people to say they are “bad with names.” No one is bad with names. That is not a real thing. Not knowing people’s names isn’t a neurological condition; it’s a choice. You choose not to make learning people’s names a priority. It’s like saying, “Hey, a disclaimer about me: I’m rude.”

I gave this four stars overall, because it was a lighthearted, quick read that I think most people would enjoy.

6 comments

  1. I love how you followed up Mindy’s book by reading BJ’s 🙂 This is one of my favorite humorous memoirs. I listened to the audio which is such a treat.

    I haven’t read Paddle your own canoe yet, so that’s good to know that it’s hard to get into.

    You chose some great quotes from the book! When I’m in a book rut I re-read/listen to this one and I’m glad it worked for you too.

    1. I can imagine the audio is so funny, hearing it in her voice!

      Paddle Your Own Canoe was just basically (unfunny) rants about different things, and I eventually gave up, it was disappointing.

Leave a Reply

