Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Will Make You Cry

Happy Tuesday! As usual I’m joining The Broke and the Bookish in their weekly bookish discussion, and this week it’s books that make you cry. A pretty fitting topic for this dreary day.

header_top-ten-tuesday

1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak: I’m pretty sure no book has/will ever make me cry like this one. “The only thing worse than a boy who hates you is a boy who loves you.” And then that boy and girl will take your heart and shred it. And then put it in a blender. Some other heart wrenching quotes just because:

“Rudy Steiner was scared of the book thief’s kiss. He must have longed for it so much. He must have loved her so incredibly hard. So hard that he would never ask for her lips again and would go to his grave without them.”

“’Don’t you know I love you, wake up, wake up, wake up…’ But nothing cared.”

“She leaned down and looked at his lifeless face and Leisel kissed her best friend, Rudy Steiner, soft and true on his lips. He tasted dusty and sweet. He tasted like regret in the shadows of trees and in the glow of the anarchist’s suit collection. She kissed him long and soft, and when she pulled herself away, she touched his mouth with her fingers…She did not say goodbye. She was incapable, and after a few more minutes at his side, she was able to tear herself from the ground. It amazes me what humans can do, even when streams are flowing down their faces and they stagger on…”

CASUALLY CRYING AS I TYPE, IT’S ALL FINE. Moving on.

2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. There is no way in the world this won’t be on a lot of lists this week, but Hazel Grace and Augustus’ story will bring ANYONE to tears.

3. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I just read this one recently but by the end I was crying my eyes out. Thinking about all these books is alternately making me want to cry and re-read them.

4. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. I hadn’t expected this to be so SAD when I went into it, but I remember finishing in the middle of the night and bawling.

5. If I Stay by Gayle Foreman. This one was (and still is) one of my favorite YA novels.  Definitely a tear jerker. I haven’t read the sequel though! I’m not sure why…

6. Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt. It’s been a while since I wrote about this! Your heart pretty much breaks the whole way through this though.

7. The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy. I can’t actually remember if I cried at this or if I just thought the story as a whole was horribly sad. This is another one of my favorite books of all time. I guess I just love sad books?

8. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K Rowling. I think this was probably one of the first books to make me cry. Set me up for the next two books too, which had me crying many many times.

This seems to be all I can come up with! What are some of your favorite tear jerkers?

12 comments

  1. This list was harder than I expected, as many TTT are. (This book is sad, but did it make me cry? If I don’t remember, that means ‘no,’ right?) Book Thief and Fault in Our Stars made my list, too.

  2. Only thinking about Tell the Wolves I’m Home makes me all sad again. That book broke my heart. On the one hand I want to reread it again and again because it’s so beautifully written but on the other I don’t think I can take it a second time.

  3. Wow, I completely forgot to add the Book Thief to my TTT list! Eleanor & Park didn’t make me cry, but it was definitely an explosion of feels. Great list! 🙂

    1. My friend couldn’t get into it either! It’s a little slow moving and a lot of like…internal thoughts so I think it’s really a hate it or love it kind of thing.

Leave a Reply

