Some Nookish Thoughts

Is this even still a debate? Has everyone accepted the #NookLife (or #KindleLife) and I’m just late to the party?

Regardless. My mom got me a Nook for Christmas last year, and I was so torn about it. I wanted to be excited and use it but I couldn’t bring myself to stop buying actual books, and somewhere along the way my Nook was forgotten.

Fast forward to the past couple of weeks. I’ve read three books on that bad boy in the past two weeks or so, all of which I bought for relatively cheap. I’m suddenly wondering WHAT exactly I’ve been doing for the past year or so. Books can be so cheap and it makes it really easy to read at work and I’m here to eat crow.

But I mean really, Barnes & Noble makes it so enticing, sending me emails like “Nook books 50% off this weekend!” IT’S AN OFFER I CANNOT REFUSE.

Today alone I bought

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman (My first Neil Gaiman book)

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi (Since why not?)

Mrs. Poe by Lynn Cullen (FINALLY)

ImageImageImage

 

I still wouldn’t choose reading on an e-reader over reading actual books but I have definitely learned the appeal of them!

Do you like Nooks/Kindles/etc.? Am I really the last one to the party?? (Fashionably late, maybe!)

7 comments

  1. Welcome to the dark side, my friend. I was anti e-reader, until I got my first Kindle as a gift. Cheap books, no need for storage space, always fits in my purse. Yep. I’m a Kindle junkie.

  2. Recently I finished reading The Ocean at the End of the Lane, and I really liked it! It’s a short read, but there’s so much going on that it almost feels longer, if that makes any sense. 🙂

  3. I don’t know what type of nook you have but I have a Nook HD+ and I love it! I have times where I prefer the nook and sometimes I just want to read a physical book. Even though I am a nook fan I do have the Kindle app on my nook and buy books there too. Overall though, I prefer the nook because as long as the book is in epub form, the nook can read it while Kindle’s can only read amazon kindle books. 🙂

      1. Yes you can! If you update the nook tablet (it’s the one I have too) and it has google play, you can download and you’re good to go and download the kindle app 🙂

Leave a Reply

