From Books to Movies

Buzzfeed recently posted an article listing 16 movies being adapted from books this year! Some of them are widely known (TFIOS, Divergent) but I was so excited to see some of the other titles on the list, and thought you guys might be too!

I’m especially excited for Gone Girl and Wild and surprised about Dark Places. I read all of Gillian Flynn’s books and didn’t really enjoy Dark Places at all so I’m interested to see if (just this once) it works out better as a film.

The list ALSO gave me more books that I want to look into and read:

Labor Day – Joyce Maynard: Something about this book and knowing Kate Winslet will be in the movie adaptation just draws me in. The whole harboring a fugitive aspect also gives me The Book Thief flashbacks, which will always be one of my favorites.

A Long Way Down – Nick Hornby: I haven’t read and Nick Hornby and I feel like he is one of those authors I see around book stores and hear about vaguely but never really looked into. Now I want to!

The Hundred Foot Journey – Richard C. Morias: I hadn’t heard of this book before reading this article, but it looks so good!

This Is Where I Leave You – Jonathan Tropper: I’ve heard a lot about this and have been meaning to get around to it. Maybe this will be the push I’ve been needing!

Which are you most excited to see on the big screen this year?

Leave a Reply

