Review: Every Day by David Levithan

Image

My Rating: ★★★

My first book and review of the new year! Every Day is the story of A, a genderless person who wakes up in a new body every day. A does not know how or why they came to be this way, just that every morning they wake up and assume the life of someone new while remaining themselves on the inside. A had accepted this way of life, not making any waves along the way, until taking on the role of Justin. This leads him to meet (and fall in love with) Rhiannon, Justin’s girlfriend, and everything changes. Life as A knows it has changed, and A begins breaking their own rules, risking the lives he inhabits just for one more day with Rhiannon.

I went into this book with relatively high expectations, because I had heard nothing but praise for it, and looked at it every time I found myself at the bookstore (which is OFTEN). Starting out, I definitely thought the book was interesting but kept waiting for it to really get moving. I couldn’t really get a sense of A as a characters because he was switching bodies so often. The entire time he spent chasing after Rhiannon and was oblivious to the fact that what he wanted could never be. Sad though it was (I did cry at the end) it was also anticlimactic. We never got a real understanding of most things, which frustrates me. One of these things being Reverend Poole: I feel like his entire storyline could have been eliminated with no difference to the story overall whatsoever.

The writing was beautiful though, and I found myself stopping to highlight quotes and passages really often, which is what made me want to keep reading even when the plot had me rolling my eyes. For that reason I gave the book three stars. A had some really gorgeous quotes and ideas about life and love and everything in between, even though I couldn’t really connect with him (or any of the other characters really).

Overall, I probably won’t be recommending this book, but here are some quotes I really liked:

“If there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s this: We all want everything to be okay. We don’t even wish so much for fantastic or marvelous or outstanding. We will happily settle for okay, because most of the time, okay is enough.”

“The moment you fall in love feels like it has centuries behind it, generations – all of them rearranging themselves so this precise, remarkable intersection could happen. In your heart, in your bones, no matter how silly you know it is, you feel that everything has been leading to this, all the secret arrows were pointing here, the universe and time itself crafted this long ago, and you are just now realizing it, you are just now arriving at the place you were always meant to be.”

“It’s as simple as that. Simple and complicated, as most true things are.”

“If smart people are parodying it, that’s a sure sign that some less smart people are believing it.”

“I want love to conquer all. But love can’t conquer anything. It can’t do anything on it’s own. It relies on us to do the conquering on its behalf.”

One comment

Leave a Reply

