Top Ten Tuesday: New to Me Authors of 2013

Image

Happy Tuesday! This week The Broke and the Bookish discuss their best author discoveries of 2013, and I am here to join them…because naturally the first thing I do after I finish writing about books for class is write about them for fun. Anyway without further ado:

1. VERONICA ROTH. It took me so long but I have finally read Divergent and I am officially in the fan club. I cannot wait to get my hands on the next two next!

2. Rainbow Rowell:  I feel like she is (deservedly!) on everyone’s list this year, but I absolutely loved both Eleanor and Park and Fangirl.

3. Maria Semple: I had heard a lot about Where’d You Go Bernadette but finally read it earlier this year and absolutely loved it. Maria Semple had me laughing out loud and I can’t wait to read more from her.

4.  Maureen Johnson: It seems weird to me that I hadn’t read anything by her before this year, because I’ve followed her on twitter for so long and she cracks me up. ANYWAY I loved the Shades of London series and 13 Little Blue Envelopes so much! As if I haven’t ranted about that a bunch of times already.

5. Jennifer E. Smith: Another YA author I’d heard about but never read, and another one I want to read more of!

6. Carol Rifka Brunt: What kind of best author list would this be without me fangirling over how perfect this book was? NOT A LIST BY ME.

7. Therese Fowler: I loved and can’t wait to read more by her!

8. Paula McLain: What can I saw I love books about the wives of classic authors!

9. David Levithan: I first read his joint novel Will Grayson, Will Grayson with John Green, and recently bought Everyday because I loved his writing so much.

10. Ruta Sepetys: Wow you don’t realize how much young adult fiction you read until you make a list of authors. But regardless, I cant wait to read Out of the Easy!  

10 comments

  1. We have a few common writers on our lists! Every Day is amazing – you will love it! And I’ve said this many times before, but I need to read Rainbow Rowell soon 😀 Please check out my TTT if you get a chance, I would really appreciate it! 😀

  2. Rainbow Rowell deserves it all. I am obsessed with her YA lit. I can’t believe that she took this long to be almost a YA household name. I am just starting Z now, but I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

