Top Ten 2014 Releases I’m Dying To Read

Happy Tuesday! This post is brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday meme. I’m excited that this is the topic of the day because there are so many books I can’t wait for in 2014.

1. Hollow City by Ransom Riggs. I’ve been dying for this book since I finished Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children back in August. Since then I’ve been pushing this book on anyone who would listen. If you haven’t read Miss Peregrine, you should! Bonus: you won’t have long to wait for Hollow City since it comes out in January!

2. The Shadow Cabinet by Maureen Johnson. Another series I’ve been raving about lately, the Shades of London. I just can’t get enough, and The Shadow Cabinet is supposed to be coming out in the fall of 2014. Trying not to dwell on HOW FAR AWAY that is. Maureen Johnson also noted on twitter the other day that she is writing a PREQUEL to the series as well, but it may or may not be available in the U.S. SAY IT AIN’T SO MAUREEN!

3. The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith. So I just finished The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight last night, after reading it all day, and I absolutely loved it. I loved that you got so much of the character’s personalities and back stories in a novel that took place in the span of 24 hours. I haven’t gotten to This is What Happy Looks Like yet but I already cannot wait for Smith’s next book.

4. Landline by Rainbow Rowell. I’ve so far only read Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, but am so looking forward to reading Fangirl just as soon as this semester ends. Landline appears to be more of an adult book rather than YA, so I’m excited to see how her style of writing shifts for a different audience.

5. Ripper by Isabel Allende. This sounds really interesting to me, and I will definitely be reading this to fill the Jack the Ripper shaped void in my life as I anxiously await The Shadow Cabinet. …I promise I’ll stop talking about these books soon. Maybe. Okay no promises.

6. The Good Luck of Right Now by Matthew Quick. I absolutely love Silver Linings Playbook and I am so excited to see what’s next from Mr. Quick!

7. Carthage by Joyce Carol Oates. I’ve only read a few things by Joyce Carol Oates, but this seems like just the type of thriller/mystery I would love.

8. Isla and the Happily Ever After. Because young adult books that involve love and traveling are my current book addiction.

Okay so maybe there aren’t *so* many books I’m excited for. More like an incredible amount of excitement for these eight. Are there any books you can’t wait to get your hands on in 2014? What about favorites of 2013? I’ll be sharing my favorites soon!

4 comments

  1. Isabelle Allende is writing a Jack the Ripper book? How exciting! *runs to goodreads, adds to TBR* I am also sad about how long the wait is going to be for a new Shades of London…I also learned about Landline today. I LOVED Fangirl. Eleanor & Park was lovely, but Fangirl was so much MORE. Thanks for the Ripper tip! http://wp.me/pzUn5-1JG

Leave a Reply

