What are you reading?

One of the hardest things about being in school, even as an English major, is not having enough time to read everything I want to read. I am constantly (CONSTANTLY) buying new books, which I don’t see as a problem, so much as a (hoarder-esque, expensive) hobby. I love having endless options for things to read, but it depresses me looking at them while I read something often much less fun for a class.

However, I agree with Stephen King’s philosophy: “The trick is to teach yourself to read in small sips as well as long swallows.” I hardly ever leave the house without a book in my bag: Rory Gilmore style, giving myself something to read whenever I get a free minute, whether on the train or between classes.

This tactic recently allowed me to devour Maureen Johnson’s Shades of London series. (Mentally adding it to my Spooky Books List ) The first in the series, The Name of the Star drew me in instantly, and I found myself completely unable to put it down. Protagonist Rory Deveaux moves to London to attend Wexford, a boarding school, for her senior year of high school. However, after settling in and making some friends, Rory develops a rather…interesting ability: she can see ghosts. This becomes incredibly problematic, as the city is in a state of terror over a series of Jack the Ripper copy cat murders. Rory is the only one who can see the possible suspect. The novel is spooky, funny and somehow relatable all the way through, and left me running to the bookstore to snatch up the sequel, The Madness Underneath.

I don’t want to say too much about The Madness Underneath because it would give away too much, but I will say that it was one of the worst (read: best!) cliffhangers I’ve read in a WHILE. The third book in the series, reportedly titled The Shadow Cabinet is slated for a 2014 release, and I will be bouncing up and down on the edge of my seat in anticipation! For now I will be scouring the book shelves of bookstores looking for something to fill the ghostly void.

IMG_3535

What have you been reading lately? Any recommendations, ghostly or otherwise?

Leave a Reply

